X
GO

File Downloads

Scratch Files

Scratch is a programming language designed to introduce learners to programming using a visual interface where programming structures are dragged onto the desktop and executed.  The code uses "sprites" similar to objects that can perform actions.  Each structure fits together like a puzzle to show what forms a "block" of code.  The code acts on the sprite to form an animation.

It is amazing for teaching loops and selection structures and even includes threads.  As the complexity grows it can cause problems with synchronisation between threads leading to some unpredictable results.

Scratch is available at http://scratch.mit.edu/

A really useful web site to learn Scratch is available at http://learnscratch.org/

Youtube has great videos to teach how to code certain games. Look at:

Create a Marble Racer Game

 

Order Books

E-mail Anna Marie Visser to order a print version of the books at info@funworks.co.za
For delivery queries contact Jenny 083 259 7433

Please note that Funworks does not supply eBooks. 

eBook Suppliers:

Retailer:  Academic Achievement Suppliers
Contact:
Tertius Steenkamp
Email: 
educate@mweb.co.za

Retailer: Afro School Suppliers
Contact:
Johnny Koster
Email:
jkoster@afroschool.co.za

Retailer: Amanda Johnson & Co
Contact: 
Amanda Johnson
Email:
admin@amandajohnson.co.za

Retailer: BeyondBooks
Contact:
Kim Symonds
Email:
kim@beyondbooks.co.za

Retailer: BookBound
Contact: 
Frances
Email: 
bookboundrandburg@telkomsa.net

Retailer: BookMark
Contact: 
Carol
Email: 
carol@bestbookmark.co.za

Retailer: Bookshelf
Contact:
Angela Gibson
Email:
read@bookshelf.co.za

Retailer: Castle Walk Stationers
Contact:
Pietra Matthee
Email:
castlewalkstationers@gmail.com

Retailer: Caxton Books
Contact:
Jonathan Ferreira
Email:
jferreira@caxtons.co.za

Retailer: Ferndale Textbooks
Contact: Margie Hart
Email: ferndaletextbooks@gmail.com 
Web site:  www.ferndaletextbooks.co.za 

Retailer: Nobel Books
Contact: Concha Botes
Email:
concha@nobelbooks.co.za

Retailer: Novice Books
Contact:
Dominique Valente
Email:
dominique@novicebooks.co.za

Retailer: Red Pepper Books
Contact:
Wendy Odendaal
Email:
wendy@redpepperbooks.co.za

Retailer: Rehab Books
Contact:
Ross
Email:
rehab.books@gmail.com

Retailer: Sherwood Books
Contact:
Mohammad Gangat
Email:
sherwoodmg@tiscali.co.za

Retailer:  Snapplify
Contact: 
Tarryn-Anne Anderson
Email: 
www.snapplify.com

Retailer: Western Cape School Suppliers
Contact: 
Ronel Reid
Email: 
admin@wcapess.co.za

photo "It had long since come to my attention that people of accomplishment rarely sat back and let things happen to them. They went out and happened to things" Leonardo da Vinci